License Migration Transition upgrade from Dynamics GP to Dynamics Business Central
License Migration Transition (LMT) upgrade from Dynamics GP to Dynamics Business Central on-premises is now live
As of July 1, 2019, Dynamics GP customers with an Enhancement plan can transition to Dynamics Business Central on-premises via an LMT upgrade.
Since its launch in April 2018, Dynamics 365 Business Central has been increasingly adopted by organizations looking to digitally transform their workspaces. In October 2018, we made Business Central available for on-premises deployments. Dynamics 365 Business Central is available worldwide and localized in a number of countries.
License Migration Transition Upgrade (LMT)
Starting July 1, 2019, Dynamics GP customers with an active enhancement plan will be able to transition to Dynamics 365 Business Central on-premises via an LMT upgrade. With the LMT Upgrade, Dynamics NAV and Dynamics GP MBL, BRL and Perpetual customers are mapped to Dynamics 365 Business Central on-premises to ensure that customers receive at least their current functionality plus the number of users they have already licensed. The LMT Upgrade path is available to customers as of the General Availability (GA) of Dynamics 365 Business Central on-premises. However, customers need to meet the eligibility criteria for the LMT Upgrade path.
Eligibility & Migration
The LMT Upgrade path is available to all Dynamics NAV, GP, and Perpetual customers with an Enhancement Plan. The LMT Upgrade will apply to these customers regardless of when they choose to upgrade. A set of LMT Upgrade rules map which Dynamics 365 Business Central on-premises functionality packs and the quantity and type of users customers will receive in exchange for their configuration prior to the LMT Upgrade.
Once the new version goes into a production environment (e.g. process business operations or create new transactions), customers may only access the transitioned (old) version to reference past transactions for tax, audit, and/or reporting purposes. However, as soon as the license key for the new product version is issued, customers will not be able to add users and/or modules directly to the transitioned versions(s).
Resource Credit | Microsoft 365